Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Tanjoubi

    May 29, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Today no trips or trainrides. Today is the day i celebrate my birthday! I told Marina a while ago and she suggested to have a big party with barbecue, music and drinks. I didn't have to think long about an answer. :-) I decided to stay in the hostel and when the first guests from Tokio came I helped them build up the tent and bbq. The sunny weather and the good mood made for a good atmosphere. The food was delicious but I expected that there were going to be things I had never tried before. I was not disappointed. Some of the more exotic ones were fried grasshopper in soy sauce and a salad with jellyfish. You might not expect it but both tasted pretty damn good! Meanwhile Ryo, one of the guests from Tokio had been drinking in a pace that even i couldn't keep up with. Eventually the alcohol caught up with him and he decided to lay in the garden and eat some flowers. After about 30 minutes he was back to his old self and joined us in the party. After the barbeque the party went on inside and even more guests and local people joined the party. I got a cake and so many nice presents. Ryo had heard of my small backpack and so he bought a bucketload of potatochips in real small packages that would never fit. I also got a japanese version of a knapsack with beautiful decorations. It was so great, i got lost for words and that doesn't happen a lot. The party went on long with lots of beer, sake and a lot of laughs. Thank you Marinasan for such a wonderful party! I will remember this for a long time!Read more