Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Headset

    June 4, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    The event with the expensive headset Megume told me about was set to start at 11am so i had plenty of time to get some extra naptime. I slowly set off from the hostel to the even which was held in a big building in Shinjuku. I reported at the reception and they told me to take the elevator to the 47 floor where the demonstration would be held. It took me quite a while to find the right room since everything was in kanji. After walking about 7 rounds in the building i finally managed to find the demonstratation room. It was a good choice to go early as there were only 2 people in front of me. Each person could listen to the headset for a good 5 minutes before it was time for the next person to listen. After 10 anxious minutes it was finally my time to listen. I have to admit that the headset sounded really clear and crisp but I'm not sure if my ears could hear the difference with a regular headset after all the years of really loud Techno parties. It was definitaly a great experience though and i must say that Slayer sounded more metal and Marianne Rosenberg more disco than on any regular headset. On my way back i strolled through a nearby park to find a garage sale in the main square. People were selling roughly the same stuff as the Dutch sell on Kingsday. The rest of the day was spent in the shopping and Kabokicho red light district and just enjoying the hustle and bustle of the backstreets. I don't have the urge to buy stuff or anything. It's just really nice to walk around and watch people. Back to the hostel again where a small Matsuri was going on in the street with lots of small kids beating the big drum that was in front of the shrine. I got some nice pictures but had to get the hostel for a quick shower since i was going to meet Nao, a girl i met two years ago in Hana Hostel in Tokyo. She invited me to her share house to have dinner with her and her friend and housemates. The place was not that hard to find but google got the addres wrong and sent me to the house nextdoor. I rang the bell and a very surprised Japanese student who didn't know Nao just hung up on me. After a while I found the right house with the help of Nao and i got into the common kitchen where they were already making Takyoki, one of my favorite foods. It was so great to see her again and talk with her and al of her friends. I had a lot of fun making Takoyaki, although i'm not very good a it. I was enjoying myself so good that i almost forgot about the time and after taking pictures of us together i had to run for the train back to the hostel. I got to the station in time al sweating but i just made it before the last train. Back in Asakusa i went to Nui if I could see Jimmy there. He went to Niigata and i wanted to hear about his adventures. I couldn't find him at Nui or at K's house so i decided to go straight to bed. I was absolutely knackered!Read more