Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Amemura

    June 5, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    As Jimmy and I would both leave Tokyo today and would go in the same direction we had spoken about going on the Shinkansen together. But because we hadn't agreed on a time and yet and i had not seen him yesterday, i woke up early to check if he was still in the hostel or not. I checked with the staff at K's house and they told me he had already left, which was too bad since we didn't get the change to exchange our addresses and he didn't have FB or Email or anything. Luckily he would come back to the hostel in a couple of days so i left him a note with my address. I took the subway to the Shinkansen and after getting a reserved seat ticket and waiting for roughly 50 minutes (i really have to learn to plan this better. :-P) i got onboard. In a certain way it was good i was alone now because i really needed to update my blog and the trip to Osaka would give me plenty of time to do so. About an hour and a half later i had nearly finished two days of my blog as i noticed a big person entering the wagon i was in. I looked up and it was Jimmy! Apparently he had been doing some shopping before entering the same Shinkansen as me. We briefly spoke before the conductor came in and told Jimmy that this was not his reserved seat and he had to move to his own seat. (the cars were rougly 80% empty. :-P) Luckily this Shinkansen version has 5 cars for non reserved seats and after walking through 9 long train cars we arrived in car 5 and the rest of the trainride was spent chatting and exchanging adresses. At Osaka station came the time to split up since he was going on to Hiroshima. I helped him up the stairs with his heavy luggage and we said our goodbyes. I took a local train and strolled abit around the downtown Umeda area in Osaka before taking the subway to Amemura. This is the youth/underground district of Osaka and one of my favourite places to just stroll around and watch people pass by. As an added bonus it is also the place where one of my favorite hostels is located, Hana Hostel. Great little hostel with great staff. I'm always looking forward to coming there. I checked in and after a quick shower and a long nap i went out on the streets of Amemura. This place is best enjoyed at night when a lot of people are outside or in bars having a good time. You can hear all the different kinds of music from as many different and crazy bars. I wanted to get a little break from all the partying of the last couple of days in Tokyo so i grabbed some dinner and some Highball drinks from the local konbini before heading to bed (relatively) early.Read more