Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Strolling

    June 22, 2016 in Japan ⋅ 🌬 25 °C

    No big plans today. I had seen most things i wanted to see. I had some tshirt hunting to do and this combined with the heavy rain made me go out into the nearby shopping arcade. Shopping arcades are basically shopping streets but the street has a roof so no matter what the weather is, it's always comfortable. Add to that that the backstreets of these shopping arcades are usually a pretty good place to find cool shops and some people watchin and you have a good activity to spend the day. The arce was filled with people even though it was just another weekday and i quickly found myself browsing through the many tax free shops that line the arcade. After going to the MacDonalds for a homely snack i found myself strolling through the backstreets of Nagasaki. Unfortunately there weren't many shops of interest for me and after walking about for roughly two hours I returned to the hostel where i spend the rest of the afternoon talking with a guy from Britain about his biking and camping adventures in Japan. Really cool to see the way he traversed Japan on his Koga-Miyata, a Dutch-Japanase bike brand, how funny. :-)
    I went to bed early as i had to get up really early to catch the first train to Fukuoka and then a flight to Okinawa.
    Read more