Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day Five: Pamplona to Puente de la reina

    May 4, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Today was a full day. I started the walk this morning at around 7.30 - a little later than usual. But, I slept!! A good night sleep free of snoring. Wonderful! I have to admit I was so tired by the time I checked in to my private room that I bought some sandwich makings and ate them in my room watching tv. Not quite the Camino experience, but I’m at peace with it.

    The day started with leaving Pamplona, moving further away from the city towards the countryside. Cars and roads give away to flowers and fields. I ran into Becky who I had met on the flight, and she was with a big group of people. There was Nico the American from I don’t know where. He was a little standoffish (sorry Nico!), but there was also Jim the retired construction manager from San Francisco. Hodges, the traveller who had introduced me to poles in SJPDP. He was lovely. Becky is from the isle of white, and was very welcoming when I asked if I could join them!

    The first part of the walk was slowly meandering up towards the Alto de Perdon, it was steep but we had all stopped in Ciruz Menor for coffee so I felt prepared. I ended up walking mainly with hodges who told me my walking poles were set up wrong! But he helped me learn how to tie my shoes properly for the descent and I am so grateful for any knowledge that is pole related as I feel like Bambi.

    By the top of the summit everyone was stopping to take photos and I felt it was the right time to keep going. I surprised myself by how fast I could get up the hill. Once at the top I ran into Carlos who had climbed the summit with me on day one. And then I walked mostly by myself.

    I did feel slightly anxious at this point. Having been around so many groups today, I felt that walking alone I was somehow missing this experience, I have been a little like a vagrant moving from one group to another.

    I walked in this feeling for another 10k, but it passed as I reminded myself this walk is for me and no one else. I then met Nicolas, an Italian who wants to move to London. We walked with Becky’s group for a while and then they wanted to stop for another coffee - so we kept on. I mentioned that I wanted to do a small detour. He agreed to come with me and we found our way to the chapel at Eustani. We shared a sandwich I had brought and he told me about his outlook on life, we shared much of this and so we continued on together. We met Amy (from the first photo) and Merle who had walked the Camino before. He said food and water always a good option to pack, so I felt less bad about all of the trail mix and fruit that added another 6kg to my pack!

    In the end I walked over 27k today. I’m now at an albergue enjoying a beer and listening to the trees and the radio.

    All is good.
    Read more