Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 17

    Day 17: Castrojeriz a Fromista

    16 maja 2022, Hiszpania ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    So I rejoin the trail on day 16. I start later than usual, at around 8.30 in the morning. It will be a struggle to change my sleeping pattern again! I leave Dad after a couple of coffees with him and Tomi and have to walk off into the morning sun. Bittersweet, but I am so glad to have been able to enjoy the time together.

    The day starts and my pace is all wrong, the sun is a little high in the sky, and the first thing I do is climb. Climb past Sandra who spoke to me briefly, climb past many people I don’t recognise. I certainly need to get into my stride again.

    The day is warm and a little breezy. I am into the Meseta, the ‘mind’ portion of the walk. I was expecting arid and dry fields, scorched earth and sunshine. But it’s still early in the year, so the fields are green and there are flowers lining the path. Poppies, cornflowers, daisies. Blue, purple and red.

    I walk to the first pilgrim stop point and I am greeted by a man who is a little surly. He puts me into a weird frame of mind as I walk. Am I doing this pilgrim thing right? Why am I even here? These thoughts circle around in my head as I walk.

    25k unfurls in front of me and I don’t really even notice. I arrive at Fromista, sometime in the afternoon at around 2pm. I check in to my albergue and notice Hodges and Jim, and I am glad to see the familiar faces. We chat about what is coming up tomorrow and our experiences so far, and I feel at ease again.

    Hodges and I share a beer, and he tells me he has yet to have a profound moment. Amy, he tells me, has been in tears over her experience. It makes me reflect on my own and wonder where I sit with it all? It has been very mixed so far, and still a long way to go.

    I have dinner with them both and Scottish Sandra. Castilian garlic soup (not again!) and trout. A glass of wine and try to get some sleep. I am aiming for an early start tomorrow, 5.45, so I can enjoy a little solitude in the morning light.

    We shall see if that actually happens!

    On to the next day.
    Czytaj więcej