Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Leaving Llanes

    October 11, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    (When choosing the first picture for this post, this train sitting in the station at the start of the day turned out to be an interesting omen!! It looked like a luxury Orient Express type of train that I could imagine coming back and taking one day....)

    Spent much of the previous evening weighing the pros and cons of taking some mass transit to ensure I got to Ribadesella by the time the post office Correos closes at 2:30. It also happens to be closed tomorrow for National Day of Spain. So I made the kind of difficult (but I think very practical) decision to walk for a few hours this morning along the coast and then hop the train to Ribadesella.

    Boy did that turn out to be a mistake! :). After deciding to take an alternate route along the coast in the on and off rain, which was absolutely stunning, I arrived 20 minutes before the train was supposed to pull into Celorio at 11:06 a.m. it never arrived and I waited over an hour. And then realized my next option was a bus at around 1:32 a couple of towns down the road so I walked back up to the coast from more views along the way, then went back for the bus.

    When I got to that bus stop, it was literally an intersection, with no markings anywhere, but there was a bar next door so I went in and none of the dozen people spoke any English, so using Google translate (after ordering a beer and getting some very nice free ham Croquettes that she was passing out!!), I was able to figure out that the bus did come through sometimes a little late.

    To make sure I got to the right place about 100 m down the road, one of the locals as he was leaving the bar walked with me then pointed to the bus stop, which was just in front of a home and with no signs. When the bus finally came 15 minutes late, the bus driver immediately scolded me for being at the wrong place.. even though clearly I was not a local. Even with being on time I had very little time to make the post office, but we were running late. Somehow he made up some time and as we pulled into town I asked to get off just before the station because it was closer to the post office, he refused, I had a relapse into being a New Yorker, and ultimately after being dropped off at the station ran to the post office and made it with 9 minutes to spare!
    Read more