Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Abu Dhabi's got a big building

    November 19, 2022 in Kuwait ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I'd only driven past this place, the Grand Mosque, years ago. Lots of people have said it's not to be missed, so I made the trip.
    It's vast.
    I got there early and avoided the hordes of tourists.
    There's a long walk just to get from the exterior gate to the entrance. Then you have to go underground which leads to a shopping mall, of all things. This shouldn't be surprising but it seems odd. There are trinkets to buy, and those dirhams won't spend themselves.
    Smiling tour guides shuffled me and a few other punters through museum-type galleries until, at last, I emerged at the surface into the mosque itself.
    Blimey. Did I say it's big.
    You don't have to get off on that religion thing to be impressed by beautiful and effective architecture.
    Well worth the effort - early before it gets hot.
    And as one pic shows, it seems they'll let in anyone.
    Read more