Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    First couple of days - Return to Kuwait

    November 21, 2022 in Kuwait ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    After arriving back in Kuwait late on Saturday evening, after a couple of years away, some things are oddly familiar whilst others are strange. My old mucka Khin Wee Chen graciously picked me up from the airport for the drive back to his place. I'll be staying with him in his spare room in Salmiya until moving on next Friday 25th November. Excellent base, excellent host.
    Sunday was an easy, restful day of catching up with old colleagues at Gulf University. Oh how I love a bit of gossip. The place is broadly the same, but the organisation has taken a turn in an odd direction. Oh well, we must all move on ;)
    Eating, a bit of walking, and more eating. Dropped my phone on the loo floor in the restaurant. Oh b*gg*r, I smashed the front screen good n proper. (Probably a repair/replacement in Kuala Lumpur or Singapore.)
    Monday - brunch with my old GUST mates Khin Wee, Ildiko Kaposi and Fahad Al Sumait. It was great to catch up with them, hear their news and a have a right good natter. And thanks for picking up the breakfast tab Fahad. What fine colleagues indeed. There's great talent in Kuwait, if only it was fully utilised.
    Whilst strolling down the coastal path in Salmiya, I managed to grab a few shots of an air display team doing colourful loop-the-loops over the city across the bay.
    Maybe it was a FIFA World Cup celebration for the Qatari neighbours?
    Read more