Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Last Day in Lalitpur

    November 30, 2022 in Nepal ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I liked it so much, I went back. Lalitpur is smaller than Kathmandu city, but the ancient buildings and people there are still fascinating.
    Another reason I wanted to return was to see more of the old area called the Durbah Square. Kathmandu has one, Lalitpur has one, and there's another that I can't bring to mind. Patan is the name for the historic old city in the centre of Lalitpur. I didn't go into the Golden Temple and museum complex again. It was a bit of a let-down actually. Another reason to come back was to find one of the hawkers who I'd nearly bought something from the other day. He was a grand old chap and his photo is attached here beside his shop display. Yep, I bought a couple of things from his shop: one from him in Nepali Rupees and one later in US dollars. The second time a woman (his wife?) had be found to translate. I got a nice prayer wheel (photo incl.) and a paper prayer mantra that the monks use. Should look smashing framed - and it's light to carry.Read more