Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Travel Day - Kathmandu to Kuala Lumpur

    December 1, 2022 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Bag’s packed, and we’re off again.
    Today’s a travel day, so I dropped the key off at what looks like a bomb zone, but might be reception with the wallpapering nearly finished. What’s not finished is the paving outside: amateur job with dozens of lads apparently employed.
    Had breakfast at a cheap place I’ve used before (photo) with chicken chow mien and milky tea (chai).
    Taxi to airport - 500 N. Rupees (£3:30). Survived again!
    This is a small, shabby but easy to use airport.
    As I’ve managed to almost use up my rupees, lunch was a plate of ‘mo mo’ (warm dough parcels filled with chicken?) and milky tea.
    Mo mo - 125-130 rupees = 50-60pence.
    Milky tea - 25-30 rupees = 22-15pence.
    Litre bottle water = 30 rupees.
    Daylight robbery. I should feel guilty 😬
    * Something I’ve noticed: the non-Nepali backpacking, hiking hippie-types don’t usually acknowledge each other (me). There’s an avoidance of eye contact, no “hellos”. They mustn’t want to spoil the authentic vibe by being reminded they’re just tourists by another name 🙄
    Read more