Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Travel from Bali to Coron via Manila

    December 31, 2022 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    A short-ish post today.
    The travel through Manila got to me - that and not having access to wi-fi or a local SIM card that works for either Manila or the island of Coron.
    Hopefully, the photos will illustrate some of the travel-hassles and things seen along the way through Manila. It's now my least favourite city on this trip.
    It was an awful bit of travelling, but inevitably there had to be some lousy experiences amongst the pleasurable ones.
    But sailing to Coron was a different experience altogether.
    The ferry from Manila dropped me off in San Jose, Mindoro, from where I (eventually) got on another ferry to the island of Coron. I got lucky in finding a tricycle taxi driver who was human and helpful, and got me to the ferry port in okay time.
    It was due to leave at 10am, but passengers had to wait for cargo and goods to be loaded, so that it was 11:30 before I got on.
    What an absolutely lovely voyage it was. Calm sea, warm sunshine. It made it a real adventure and not just getting somewhere.
    Read more