Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Gili Air, up to Leaving Bali

    December 28, 2022 on the Philippines ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Sadly, I had to leave Gili Air, to get on a flight from Bali Airport (Denpasar) to Manila. Gili is a bit grubby around the shoreline, and inland, but that's Indonesia all over. It's by far the most relaxed and pleasant place I've been to in Indonesia. Not so much exciting as welcoming and liveable.
    For my last night, I popped along the beach to a restaurant that was having a 'movie night'. It was the the Julia Roberts vehicle, Eat, Pray, Love. Very fittingly for seeing it screened in an island off Bali, it has J.R. trying to find herself, losing herself and generally not understanding herself in Italy, India and Indonesia (the alliteration must be intentional).
    Early to bed, to get a good night's sleep in my fantastic bamboo hut, ready for the boat back to Bali and the airport.
    Read more