Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    New year's Day, Coron to El Nido

    January 1, 2023 on the Philippines ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    I started this blob/vlog/whatever with a bit of blurb about 'glimpsing paradise'. It was only partly a throwaway remark. Some of the places I've visited, and will see over coming weeks, are seriously threatened by changes in global climate, pollution and plastic waste being dumped into the ocean.
    All this is true and I should also say that I've probably had my first glimpse of the kind of paradise that I was hoping to see when I planned this trip last year.
    El Nido on Palawan Island in The Philippines is gorgeous.
    It's not pristine and perfect, but it's soooo achingly photogenic. Sure, the beaches could be cleaner, the shops and restaurants could be neater and more like the generic equivalents back home. Some say it's got slightly overrun with trendy backpackers, so perhaps I should add myself to that. However, this is my kinda place. I'm staying for 5 nights at the place called Austria's (photo).
    These are some of my first photos around El Nido town and Corong Coron, which is a 10-15 minute stroll through the streets. to the next bay south of El Nido. Coron Coron is blissful.. I had a swim, carefully avoiding the sharp coral underfoot, and made time for a sunbathe.
    Correction: I had more than enough time to sunbathe. My rhythms have slowed down, my heartbeat is steady. Like the two little boys in one of the shots, I'm getting into the swing of this now.
    Yet more achingly gorgeous sights to behold tomorrow.
    Read more