Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    El Nido, 4th January 2023

    January 4, 2023 on the Philippines ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Still in El Nido. Not too frustrated, Burt 'treading water' a little bit.
    I was planning to go on another island hopping trip, but there is a band of 'low pressure' over the area, which apparently makes the bat journey a bit too choppy for most. All similar boat trips are cancelled :(
    What was left to do?
    Well, it seems that a lot of people who couldn't go on an island hopping boat trip went to Nacpan Beach, so what is normally a pristine stretch of pearly white sand was overrun with the great unwashed.
    I went on a short 'canopy walk' activity. Mmmn, it was pretty good. At least the views of El Nido bay were worth the climb.
    Lazy me just spent the afternoon ambling about the town (It's very small), bumping into people I'd already met, spending a good long while nursing a good coffee and taking in the view, and finding my new favourite bar/restaurant. El NIso Corner is a fine spot. The cocktails are 70 pesos (about £1:10) and the food is as good as anything I've had so far here. I think it's owned by a Philippine woman and her bloke who's from Denmark. I was earwigging their conversation with an Austrian couple who were saying that 'El Nido was much better back in 2008. when they first started coming ... You don't get the lower class types coming after following a YouTube influencer.' Predictable stuff.
    After am evening stroll along the beach, I bumped into a Spanish couple I'd met on the first boat trip, so we sat and drank some of the dirty local beer stuff and put the world to rights. The music in the bar was good too.
    And that just about wraps up another fine day.
    Maybe, just maybe, the weather gods will be. smiling on Palawan Island and the boat rips can resume. Otherwise, it'll be more eating and drinking, and we don't want that, do we?
    Read more