Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    El Nido, 3rd January 2023

    January 3, 2023 on the Philippines ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    The trouble with spending time in somewhere so stunning as here, is that the photos can look irritatingly similar. Maybe I should apologise for posting so many gorgeous views, but I won't. 'Not another picture postcard perfect beach', some might be saying. 'Watching someone being so relaxed he's practically horizontal gets boring.' Nah..., get away with ya. I can't bring myself to agree. Anyway, I like sharing.
    El Nido certainly isn't perfection. It sometimes seems as if paradise needs to be a little bit more hard work; slight hassle and bit rough n ready when it comes to niceties like plumbing and road surfaces. El Nido has that kind've stuff in spades..
    Today was a bit of a quiet one. I planned to get a tricycle taxi to take me to Nacpan Beach (comes recommended) but the guy wanted too much and then it started raining. It carried on raining off and on for most of the morning. So I went to Corong Corong beach again, dropping into places along the way for fried chicken and coffee, walked along the beach a ways, and chatted to a chap mending his boat after the last storm. Ya know, not much at all.
    It was grand.
    The major hassle in town today was the weather - low pressure to be exact. It meant that the boats taking people to the small islands can't handle the rough sea conditions. (My intended trip tomorrow might be cancelled.)
    Read more