Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Ao Nang, 1st day, 25th January 2023

    January 25, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    Sorry for being tardy and missing a day for these posts.
    You didn't miss much. It. was a travel day - from Koh Tao on the overnight sleeper ferry and minibus. I've had worse, slept a bit too.
    Reading up on places around the Gulf of Siam, Ao Nang came up as probably the best place to be based or the tours around the islands.
    When I got here and found my hotel, I was too early to check in, so went or a quick wander along the beach-side shops and tour operators. One o them looked too good to miss and began in the afternoon, so I paid up and let my hotel know I'd be late in checking in.
    Then, Sod's law, the heavens opened and down came the rain. It got darker and damper. Hell though, I've. paid or an island-hopping tour and I'm damned well going to have one.
    If I could have cancelled, I should have. It was a lousy trip around some spectacularly beautiful beaches and stunning rock formations. The weather got worse (and this is S.E. Asia for Pete's sake) and the photos will show it wasn't a pretty day out on a boat: One of the 'longtail' variety that splutter and fart around these parts. (They'd never pass a marine survey or MOT or whatever in most parts of the world.)
    Our first. stop was in Railay, which is legendary for it's beauty and expensive resorts. It might sound like I'm getting all blasé and up myself, but it was okay, just okay - in a gorgeous way of course. More beaches followed or some excellent snorkelling. The weather, however, wasn't playing fair, and all of us punters on the boat voted to have lunch and then call it quits. We were all getting drenched and cold.
    Lunch in a kind've cafeteria restaurant on Railay beach was okay. Took a while to make our way there - and back - in the dark and over water between jetties.
    A funny old afternoon.
    At this rate, I'm not sure how long I'm staying here. The weather forecast is for more of the same.
    Read more