Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Ao Nang, 2nd day, 26th January 2023

    January 26, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    After yesterday's rain-soaked exertions, I was determined to make today a lazy, holiday day. It worked.
    I had a lie-in and spent a bit of the morning checking on the times and prices for getting from here to the airport. Phuket is favourite as I don't fancy the bus and/or train and/or taxi up to Bangkok to save a few quid on the airfare.
    The minibus from Ao Nang to Phuket Airport it will be - in a few days.
    A few people have said something along the lines of 'Stay where you are, it's freezing cold and wet here.' Well, last night was as grim as it ever seems at home - and it should be gloriously hot and sticky and typically tropical.
    Yep, I'm going to spend a few more days in this area - in the Gulf of Thailand - visiting a few more idyllic beaches and topping up the tan. Then I'll head home.
    The hotel I'm staying at - almost certainly for the rest of my time in Thailand is called Fiesta Hostel, but it's the swankiest and priciest place I've staying in this trip. The pool photo is from here. The bar can be a bit noisy, but I slept alright last night. It'll do nicely thanks.
    Today's photos are a representation of what I saw when I opened my eyes in between sunbathing, nibbling fruit, and strolling along the beach-side streets in Ao Nang.
    Spare me some sympathy. It's hell out here :)
    Read more