Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    (Day 1 cont.) Vegas Baby!

    September 8, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    We've arrived. And we're knackered. Business class was a nice treat for us and my legs are grateful. I always wanted to fly in a 747 and we managed to get seats on the top row. Food was great and I was pleased not to have to think about strategic positioning when jostling to get off. On arrival, the border guard was extremely serious and blunt. Obviously the entertainment is on the strip and I wasn't expecting a comedy routine but I was taken aback by his demeanour and I suddenly felt really nervous for no reason. He kept asking if I was going to work in the US and I wasn't sure how to stress 'no I will not' without sounding rude. We got there in the end.

    Arriving at the hotel the receptionist could not have been more friendly. Within a minute we had gone from Middle Earth to Jersey Shore via the hotel's swimming pool and amenities. A rest was definitely needed now.
    Read more