Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,343

    USA Tour - Boston, Massachusetts

    November 15, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ -1 °C

    First full day in Boston and I was up and out early in the crisp, cold fresh morning. Today I was visiting Fenway
    Park, which was a fair way away from the Hostel but I always walk when I’m away, I only use public transport when absolutely necessary. And I’m glad I didn’t use public transport as I’d of missed all the beautiful scenery, the sounds, watching people go about their lives.

    Fenway Park was cool - real old school stadium, a lot smaller than what you’d think but it has real character. I even got to sit where Brad Pitt sat in the film ‘Moneyball’ I also managed to explore the local area and had a few beers in the ‘cask n flagon’ which is a huge bar next to the stadium where so the fans go.

    After Fenway park I walked downtown which again is a fair old walk but it was brilliant. I went to the prudential tower in Boston to go to the skywalk observatory which gives you amazing views of the city. I spent over an hour in here just watching the sky get darker and the city getting brighter.

    After I left here I went down to the Charles river and walked along the esplanade back towards Chinatown where I was staying - this was around a 3 mile walk right across the city’s riverfront.

    To get to Chinatown you have to cut through Boston Common park, and on the edge of the park is the pub ‘Cheers’ so I just had to go in for a quick pint of beer... who wouldn’t?

    Then as I left cheers to walk through the park the best thing happened - it started snowing.

    Couldn’t ask for a better way to end the perfect day!
    Read more