Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,464

    Asia Tour - Saigon - Vietnam

    March 16, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Happy 30th Ash!

    Not a bad way to spend your big 3-0 - walking around a city like Saigon!

    I woke up early this morning to just get out there and go and see things. I started off at the independence palace, which is a cool place with a ton of history, I really enjoyed walking around there. I even got to see the bunker where the army did all their planning, I also saw the presidential office which was cool too!

    After there I went to the war museum which was amazing. It’s a must do if you’re ever here. It’s extremely sad and some of the things that are there are a real eye opener and incredibly sad. There is an entire section on the use of agent orange and the images are horrific and the after affects are still being felt today in Vietnam!

    Just a short walk from there was the Norte Damn Cathedral- a Copy of the original as Vietnam was once under french rule. You notice it a lot in the architecture when you walk around.

    After stopping off for a quick beer and a bite to eat I went to the Ben Than Market which is huge. It’s half food and half shops. You can buy all sorts and it’s cheap. I treated myself to a Vietnam t shirt and 2 others (counterfeits) but extremely good quality for less than £30 so it is cheap. I probably could of got it cheaper however at this point I was extremely tired, as it was very hot and I had drank around 5L of water and I was still dehydrated, so I felt like crap.

    As birthdays go... it wasn’t a bad one
    Read more