Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Santa Cruz de La Palma

    November 25, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    On the only drizzly day of the holiday, I began the day in Santa Cruz by walking up the steep roads out of town to the Sanctuario de la Virgen de las Nieves which had a musuem about the legend of the Virgen as well as the richly-decorated church. The barranco on the way up had caves, some used for storage and shelters.
    At a cafe in the plaza outside the church, I had a snack lunch of chorizo baradillo, bread and coffee before walking back into Santa Cruz to have a bienmesabe, a traditional dessert, and coffee.
    I walked through the Plazas de Espana, San Sebastian, and Santa Domingo, going inside the very ornate Iglesia del Salvador.
    The town was getting ready for Christmas with decorations and poinsettias.
    I bought a crepe bandage and anti-inflammatory lotion for my calf muscle which had begun to ache but, fortunately, the ache disappeared overnight.
    I had dinner at a restaurant named Enriiciai which I'd booked the previous evening because, besides being small with only five tables, it was also popular. I shared a table with a German tourist.
    Read more