Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    2023 Master’s WC race day!

    December 2, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    Long race recap:

    We woke up to about two or 3 inches of fresh snow that wasn’t predicted. Everyone in Hamburg here says it is never like this. I find that hard to believe. Also, I find it hard to believe anytime I am doing a big race I have some of the most treacherous race conditions. Oh well, as the cliché goes, “that’s cross!” Fresh snow on frozen mud. The wetness of the snow did help loosen things up a bit, and there was traction on parts of the course, but so many frozen hidden ruts underneath the fresh snow. Pre-ride went well… and I was feeling good. I got to staging about 10:45, and JF from Canada was there to take my jacket and tights. The start went well and I moved up quickly and by the first turn I was somewhere in the top five. Then a guy on my right side, hit the metal fence and caused the guy to his left to flip over his bars, and I couldn’t avoid his rear wheel, and I went down also. I was up quickly, and I believe somewhere still in the top 20 or 25. The first lap was a mess, as there were so many spots, where only a single rider could fit through. I was moving up quickly and by the end of the first lap, I believe I was somewhere in the top 10-15. My shoe came 1/2 way off on the first lap, and I thought my upper boa was broken, I managed to get that fixed by messing around with it on the long paved straight away. I was moving up quickly and I got through some of the difficult sections without problems. I rode the treacherous s-curve down the biggest hill, and I believe I had moved up to around fifth. Then it all fell apart when I was making a right hand turn and I hit a rut which threw me into one of the wooden stakes. The state broke off, but the tape got wrapped around my handlebars. I thought the tape would snap but instead it jerked my handlebars backwards, and I face planted into the mud. I was up quickly and hadn’t lost too many positions maybe one or two. However, something was wrong with my back wheel. I thought I had bent the rim, so I continued to ride towards the pit. The back wheel seized up, and I shouldered the bike to start running and my rear rolled across the course. I gathered the rear wheel and started to run with the bike on my shoulder, and the rear wheel in my left hand. A spectator noticed that it was maybe just my quick release, I got my rear wheel on, but my chain was jammed. After sorting all that out, I rode to the pit and got my other bike, and on my first re-mount the seat turn about 20° sideways. There was still five laps in the race left, so I battled on, and ended up 14th position. Pretty bruised up and down, but at least I have all my teeth and I’m not in the hospital. As always, Lisa was amazing and there’s no way I could do this without her! ❤️ Also, thanks to Sebastian, and all of you who continue to cheer me on in this crazy sport. I tried my best to bring home the 🌈 .Read more