Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Aloha

    September 11, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Yay. I surprisingly slept well and the taxi is on time. For some reason I feared that they would forget I called and not show up. I almost called to confirm yesterday evening but resisted.

    We arrive at the airport in 25 minutes. The check-in for me is a breeze. Unfortunately Ben has a boarding pass with special markings causing more scrutiny at every check point. This is the second time this happens to him. At least this time we knew what to expect.

    We have three flights to take. Ottawa, Newark, Honolulu, Maui. Our flights go well, I pass the time by reading, movies and food. The plane from Newark to Honolulu has many empty seats. We make use of the extra seats and spread ourselves. Meals were not included in the 11 hours flight. For flights this long I feel it should. To compensate we are lucky and have access to a lounge in Honolulu where we get free beer 🍺 and food 🥪 while we wait for our last flight.

    We rent a Honda Civic for this leg of the trip. Our criteria is that we wanted a car with CarPlay...

    There is a 6 hours difference in Hawaii. I need to try and stay awake until 10pm local time to try and acclimate. I don’t know if I’ll make it. That would have made it almost being up 24 hours straight 😴 good night.
    Read more