Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Batu Karas stole my heart

    October 7, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Made a good decision with coming to Batu Karas 😊 a small fisherman’s village at the south coast of Java. Even if it is sooo different than our villages at home, the vibe reminds me of my beloved Fischland 😄😊 friendly locals living in harmony with some tourists at the sea. Among the tourists there is almost nobody who is not coming to Batu Karas for Surfing 😅 and to be fair, there is actually nothing to do in the village other than surfing and eating 😃 renting a surf board only costs 75,000 Indonesian Rupiah (which is like 5 euro!) for a whole day. The Beach Break in Batu Karas is a Dream for beginners in surfing but also for longboarding pros 😊 so I took a surf lesson with a teacher at the first day (at first thinking that the swell is waaaay to small) and have been surfing a longboard for the first time 👍🏼- and it is sooo fun! Tupai my teacher showed me directly how to do the typical steps on a longboard (hang five, Hang ten), wasted effort on me haha 😅 but at least I made some Progression on the board. Such a chilled spot right next to a Jungle rock 😍 and only watching the pros here has been already a highlight for me! Local Longboarding pros (been surfing right next to first Indonesian female competitive long board surfer😍) are surfing together with very young local boys on short boards who are already killing it (view video)😊 so first days in Batu Karas consisted of surfing, eating good food together with Jule who was my neighbor in the homestay where i stayed and relaxing at the cozy homestay with Kathiee the cat, the four rabbits and their babies that Ingrid (Swedish woman who owns the place together with her Indonesian husband dadan) adopted. 🏡😊 gooood times 😊Read more