Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 132

    That’s it. 🙋‍♀️

    December 26, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    MAAF! Just discovered that I forgot to upload the last footprint of my journey 😅 but seems like I made some notes for that last one, so let me finish it so I can print the photo album 😊

    On our last day on Bali Mo and me went shopping some souvenirs and got stuck in the worst traffic we have ever seen! We had one last Nasi at Ubud and drove to the airport of Bali. Mo had to take an earlier flight, so I was waiting at the airport on my own for a while.

    I still remember some of the thoughts that were going through my mind at that moment - I was somewhere inbetween “soo happy to go back home, to see everyone again!” and “maybe I should just miss my flight, stay longer (or stay forever!?)” 😅

    While waiting for that flight I realised that this would be the last step of my journey. I put my earphones in and started the playlist that was created by all the people I met along the way (and got a little bit emotional). Then I tried to process everything that had happened in the last months (which was of course impossible) and wrote down some of my memories of the different countries that I travelled to:

    … Been kind of rushing through vietnam🇻🇳 for almost 3 weeks. A lot of Phó and Banh Mi. 🍜🥪 Always soaked in sweat. Some adventurous moments on the back seat of a scooter. 🛵 A lot of antiseptic spray. 😅Just about the right amount of rice wine. 🥃 Eating oreo cookies on way to small seats in sleeper busses. 🍪🚌 And of course uncountable karaoke songs. 🎤

    … Found a home and a routine near Chiang Mai in Thailand 🇹🇭 on my 4-week-yoga teacher training. 🧘🏼‍♀️Falling in love with vegan thai food (still missing it!). 🌱Studying the yoga philosophy, the chakras, the kriyas. 📖 Regularly meeting BIG spiders under the outdoor shower. 🕷️ Enjoying the salt water pool breaks with my pool buddy with all my heart. 🏊🏼‍♀️ Chanting the Gayatri mantra at sunrise and sunset. 🌅 Breathing in the fresh air on the mauna mornings next to the rice paddies. 🏞️ And last but not least: discovering the best carrot cake I have ever eaten. 🍰

    … Felt overwhelmed when I came to busy Jakarta on Java in Indonesia 🇮🇩 …is it already rainy season? 😳… So many people. 🏙️ So much pollution. Cultural shock. Getting used to the call of the muezzin. Learning the first steps of longboard surfing next to international professionals. 🏄🏼‍♀️ Meeting friendly Javanese people (‘sama sama!’). Discovering the magical island of Karimunjawa with my three friends (‘herzig!’). 🏝️ Seeing the plankton glowing in the night. 🌌 Climbing two of the Javanese vulcanos in three days and staying in strange hostels (‘sage mal bist du deppert?!’). 🌋 Eating dragon fruits all the time. The Nasi addiction is real. 🍛 Getting to know the scary bus mafia on endless bus rides. 🚌
    … Learning Balinese traditions and how to make the healing Jamu drink by myself on Bali. 🍶 Sharing my yoga passion with some Indonesian women. 🤸‍♀️ Martabak telor is still nice. 🥞 Discovering Bali with Mo and Fynn. 👯‍♂️ Learning how to ride a scooter the balinese way (which is freaking dangerous sometimes). Oh no, do bed bug bites look like this?? 🪳Watching gorgeous sunsets at the cliffs (‘you are given one sunset a day’). 🌅
    … Arrived at Lombok after a very long ferry ride (MAAF!). ⛴️ Enjoying Lombok surfing days (tiny waves club!). 🌊 Learning how to cook the Indonesian way. 👩‍🍳 Being annoyed by some intrusive Indonesian men but also experiencing the generosity of some others (‘yes this can, lene!’).
    … Snorkeling with magical manta rays on Nusa Penida. 🪸 And simply enjoying life on Nusa Lembongan.

    What a journey. So many priceless memories that I will bring back home.
    I tried to soak up all those experiences, encounters and learnings one last time and got on the plane back to Germany.
    Read more