Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Birthday skydive!!

    February 14, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    It was finally the morning of my sky dive. I woke up feeling very nervous. I struggled eating my breakfast. We got picked up in a limo. The guy handed two ipads to us to fill out some information and sign the waiver. I said to the driver Ashleigh isn't doing it. He replied "Yes I am I'm doing it with you" He booked on to it without telling me!!

    When we got to the sky diving place we watched videos of people skydiving and I asked if i could upgrade to the orbit camera which I got for free because it was my birthday :) We got kitted out in to our skydiving jumpsuits. My skydiving partner was called Ronny and my photographer was called Ben. We all went in to a small plane. The main entrance was open while we went down the runway and was shut when we took off. The plane went up to 15,000ft it took about 20 minutes. The nerves were starting to really kick in now as I looked out of the window, seeing how high up we were going. The views, however were amazing. As we got higher we had to have oxygen masks. The entrance of the plane opened and there were two people who went out before me. I watched them fall.

    Feeling very scared but excited it was nearly my turn. Ronny tightened the harness. I put my hat on and we moved to the edge of the plane before I could think we were falling. I could see the sky and then the floor and then the sky and then the floor. My brain couldn't quite believe what was happening. I then remember falling down quickly but not tumbling now. It was incredible I felt like I was flying!! At times you couldn't breath properly for a few seconds and then you were fine.. But that was okay as I learnt quickly I will be able to catch my breath. The views of the mountains and lake taupo were spectacular. After 60 seconds of free fall the parachute went up. I was able to control the parachute myself which was good fun. The landing was actually very smooth. I just had to lift my legs up. Ashleigh landed shortly after me with a huge grin on his face. He absolutely loved it just like I did!

    In the afternoon we went on a boat trip. We had pizza and wine on the boat and went for a swim near the maori rock carvings. We went with Jayson and Jonathan and a guy we met in our hostel. In the evening we went for some drinks in Mulligans with Jeanne, conny, Jonathan and Jayson. What a birthday!
    Read more