Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Good bye Por-tu-gal

    September 26, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Another hot day. I wandered about , checked out some more churches, walked up and down a lot of hill and took the metro out to the Drago football stadium for a look. It is impressive but quite intimate. The metro leaves you out literally at the turnstiles.
    I took the bus all the way to Maraschino this evening. What a place, huge beach, huge prom, loads of high rises. It would be ok to live there as it is easy to get into Porto on a bus. Only 40 minutes and under 2 euro.
    Kind of like leaving Stoneybatter and going out to Malahide.
    Porto is a very intense place. It is a workout getting around , the hills are very steep and it was very hot. I keep saying that it was hot...... I do like it though and want to come back to check out the Duro vineyards. I did not want to join tourist throngs on one of the $100 day trips up the river to the vineyards. I will save those options for my next trip.
    I got a great pastel de nata today, out of the oven,still warm.
    It was delicious. Rua Santa Catalina, in a bake shop.
    I would try to get some basic Portuges phrases mastered before returning so I do not feel so inept. Port wine is good and so is vinho verde. It has been an interesting and tiring visit. I walked all over the place.
    Read more