Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    First dip of the year

    May 17, 2020 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Only 64 new cases today- we are well and truly flattening the curve! Unfortunately we seem to be the slowest country in the world when it comes to easing the restrictions though...I suspect maybe it's because they aren't prepared enough to do proper contact tracing or something and they're just keeping it on the down low!

    In the mean time Margaret is somehow now in France! 🤨 while all of us eejits pace up and down the West pier, she a off sunning herself in the south of France. Madness!

    I sent a vague text to olwyn yesterday asking when the swimming spots would reopen, and before I knew it I had been roped into meeting up with olwyn for an 8.30am dip at colliemore harbour followed by coffee in Dalkey! 🤣
    It was a GREAT start to the day. We jogged down and Olwyn seemed to be on first name terms with everyone we came across & then was like a minor celeb with all the swimmers! I only let out one small yelp when getting in..much to the amusement of the regulars!
    From Tuesday seapoint will be reopened..I'm going to try and get down a couple of times a week. It's good for the soul and it's good having the time to while I'm working from home.

    After coffee I continued on my long run up to Cabinteely. It was my first time in the park since lockdown. Unfortunately I misjudged how big the loop up to cabo and back through Deansgrange was and ended up running for about 2 hours in total..with a stop for a swim and coffee!

    This afternoon I learned how to draw an eye and a boot on my drawing course. A very exciting afternoon haha! Also fitted in a cheeky hot tub.

    Then I spent half the evening jogging up and down the stairs trying to beat Lisa in this week's step challenge - it's the little victories!

    I found a new feature on my Garmin which gives you predicted race times. 44.09 for 10k - what are the chances?!
    Read more