Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Botanical Gardens

    October 8, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    When I first arrived in Melbourne the Botanical Gardens was something I knew I wanted to do. After out tour earlier on in the week, I decided to go back today.

    The sun was shining but it was only about 12° so I had to go back in to change before heading out a second time.

    Went straight along to Queen Victoria Market. Wondered around there again for a bit before I realised it was exactly the same as a week ago. Was a little disappointed by that but still nice to explore everything.

    Then made the track across the city to the Gardens.

    Melbourne's free tram system is great, but does not reach beyond the CBD. This has not been an issue until now. I obviously did not by a Myki card, the tram card, as I'm not in Melbourne for long enough. However, this does mean I had to make the rest of the way on foot. 40mins after leaving the market I arrived at the gardens. So worth it.

    I explored the parts we didn't cover on the tour, and by that point the sun had come out and it looked so summery. The lake was bigger than I expected and I took a seat beside it to journal for a bit. The birds were out, people were picnicking, it was so nice.

    Left earlier than I wanted but had to get back to the hostel for our Ocean Road meeting. I ended up getting a sandwich on my way after refinding the street that does all the best subs. Very happy.

    Out meeting was a success and we headed to the shop to buy food. Far too much money later, I left with a weeks worth of food and snacks.
    Read more