Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    A day with Clara

    October 17, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Had a very busy day again today. Spent most of it with Clara, which was lovely.

    I had to pick up a bunch of staff this morning that I have managed to loose or break already. It is impressive how the little things just disappear. My headphones, no clue where they went!

    Anyways, Clara picked me up at 12 and we headed out into the hills. Our first stop was Norton Summit. The view from up here was amazing. You could see across the city to the sea, and the sun was shining so bright it was insanely clear. We had intended to have lunch here but unfortunately they were closed on mondays, so instead we headed further into the hills.

    Out spot for lunch was lovely. Nestled away in lobethal, this little bunch spot was amazing. The food was so much better than I had expected for a little cafe in sort of the middle of nowhere. I had strawberries and avo and rye bread, and Clara had halloumi and broccoli. Both dishes were really colourful and super tasty.

    After our next stop was Gorge road. This road runs alongside the river as it makes it's way through the hills. One moment we were meters from it, the next we were high up above it looking down. Between the bright sun and rains the last few weeks, the scenery was gorgeous. All green and luscious, we could have been hours from nowhere not a few minutes from the city.

    From Gorge road, we made the climb up corkscrew road. At the top of this insanely twisting road, is a little old Anglican church with the most amazing view of the valley below and hills beyond. All of these spots Clara took me too were ones that John had mentioned and taken her too in the past. It was nice to learn a little more about him through the places he liked.

    Slowly we made our way back through the hills and descended into the city. Once there we grabbed a coffee and Clara took me on a little driving tour of the city. Now I have been through a few times, I am beginning to plot a map in my head of the city and placement of things. We made a little stop at Clara's brothers house to visit her mother. A lovely woman, and a lovely house.

    After Clara dropped me back at Helen's and I lie down after a very busy day!
    Read more