Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Flowers and shopping

    October 20, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I was very proud of myself today, managed to drag my butt out of bed and across down for the 10,30 tour of the gardens. I did require a coffee upon arrival, but I made it.

    I realised walking with a guide showed me a lot of the gardens I hadn't seen yesterday. She pointed out little flowers hidden in sections I didn't know were there, and had all sorts of facts about the plants.

    I now know to identify whether a Wisteria plant originates from China or Japan, the direction of the twisting. And the difference between a Geranium and a Pellegonian, the positioning of the petals. I intend to out useless knowledge both mum and grandad one day.

    It was also hilarious walking around with the group. If you plotted our ages on a graph, I would have been removed as an extreme outlier. I do not think any of the others was under 55. But that's the nature of things.

    From there I visited the wine museum. It is a part of the gardens and you can actually buy the wine made there some years. It was an interesting little exhibition on wine making in Australia. Apparently within days of arriving one of the first settlers planted a handful of grape vines outside his tent. Wine was more important than anything else. You could also do wine tasting there, if you had a few hundred $$ sitting around. The centre had an event on today and I had great fun people watching aswell.

    After yet more time spent sitting in the sunshine, I decided to move on for a spot of shopping. Unfortunately, I could not stop myself in a few shops. I now have a cute black skirt I have to fit into my backpack, a puzzle book for when I am bored, cough medicine so I stop sounding like I am choking to death and some chocolate cause it was on offer.

    Rundle street is a very tempting area. I avoided the main shops you see everywhere and down some of the little roads are some very nice looking cafes, shops and restaurants. I'm going to try and avoid that area tomorrow as I know I will just end up spending more money. And I mean look at the books, how can you not when they look so pretty.

    A little after 5 I made my way back to the house and went on a rather long walk with the little terror.
    Read more