Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Light, camera, action

    October 21, 2022 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Today was all about art.

    Started off strong with a trip to MOD (museum of discovery). They had a piece on Australian ancestry focusing on the aboriginal heritage. One of the rooms was filled with a light display, I'm not sure how it linked but was very pretty. Then another room had a bunch of poems from aboriginal writers. The poems were all on ancestry and nature and were very good.

    Next I moved onto the state library. Along with the rooms full of books, one was holding a display of the photography finalists. All of the pictures had been taken by years 7-9, and encapsulated their thought on Adelaide. Some of them were surprisingly good for the age of the artists. Each picture had a little description of how it linked to the brief. Some had clearly been written by mum and dad, but it was a very sweet little exhibition.

    Finally I moved onto the art gallery. Now I'm not a huge fan off art, I dont usually get it. But this one I really liked. I unfortunately wasnt able to complete the entire exhibition as it was closing time so I will head back another day and finish it. Definitely something worth doing.

    Then Lucy and I went to the Oz Asia festival. Full of songs, Asian food stalls, and light displays it was very pretty. The laturns began in the main area and stretched along the bridge to the opposite bank where the light show was. Lots of different animals and figurines light up against the black background of the city.

    I have unfortunately spent much of the day coughing. The Adelaide climate seems to be disagreeing with me. Dry air, high pollen levels and lots of cars do not make a fun mix. Hopefully come Sunday when it rains, I will be able to breathe a little easier.

    However the best part of the day is everything I did was free. Cannot knock a full day of free stuff.
    Read more