Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Flying away

    October 25, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Yet another pre dawn wake up for me. That's 3 now since being away. Probably more in the last month than the last year!

    My uber driver cancelled on me 15mins before I was scheduled to be picked up. Thankfully after an extra $5 and some serious stressing on my part another guy accepted and got me there on time.

    Airports these days are so limited in human contact. I mt was 5am and I genuinely did not have enough brain function to figure it all out.

    So first off my boarding pass was on my phone so i had to download an app to access it. I now have all of my cards on my phone aswell which is unnerving. Then I had to check my own bag in. I went up to the machine, scanned my boarding pass and it printed off my checked luggage sticker. I attached it, placed my bag on the conveyor and sent it off myself. Now normally I could have done that with little effort. Not today. Today it was 5,30am, the sun was not up and I did not have enough brain cells to figure it all out.

    From there I joined the mammoth queue for security. Not bare in mind its 5,50 in the morning. No flights leave until 6,30am. And the queue had birthed a second queue. It was insane how many people were trying to check in so early. Anyways, that was an ordeal but me and the woman in front made sarcastic comments about everyone else together so that made it feel a little quicker.

    The flight itself was super simple and easy. I got on, had a little nap, watched some of my movie and eavesdropped on the argument happening next to me. I was vibing.

    Cairn's is just as hot as I was told. For some reason it still came as a shock. Had great fun trying to get out of the airport. There is no public transport from the airport to the city. Or anywhere else for that matter. So had the lovely ladies at the help desk tell me it would be $20 for a shuttle bus to the city. Not a vibe. But I made it.

    At this point I was quiet hungry as I had only had the muffin and coffee at the airport many hours before. I thought the coffee cup was cool tho so I took a little video.

    At the hostel I just relaxed by the pool. Did a bit of reading, finished my movie and attempted more of my RSA which is giving me a major headache but it must be done.

    In the evening me and two girls went for a drink at the hostel bar. Nice and loud, we could barely hear each other. But it was good to meet some more people.
    Read more