Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    Damp mornings

    November 22, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Woke up. Realised my uniform hadn't dried thanks to the storm. Cried. Took my uniform off the line and did the only think a dumbass like myself could think of at 5,30am when she had work in an hour. Placed my shirt in the microwave and prayed it evaporated off the water. It did not. Cried again. Ate my overnight oats. Put on damp uniform that I was still ringing water from and went to work. 2 and a half hours later I was almost dry.

    Breakfast was super dead until 8 backpackers showed up at exactly 10am. Breakfast finishes at 10am. So of course we let them have a half hour eating before we chucked them out. Made my life more annoying but that's backpackers for you (and I am allowed to day that as I am one) (technically!!).

    I did have a lovely conversation with two gentlemen who came in for breakky. Realised half way through the conversation they were the owners of ALH (the people than own the resort) and were the people we were stressing over the last few days. Sounds like their inspection went well and apparently if I want I am in the ALH system so I can now work in any of there 350 companies across Australia. So I somehow managed to land a job at the Australian equivalent of the Hilton enterprise by accident. Hilton for international, ALH for Australia. Bomb.

    They also said I make a very good coffee and to seriously keep it in mind when I'm travelling around, so that's good. One of the two then spoke to Steve (the big boss of this resort and the guy who hired me) and I am 99.9% sure I came up in the conversation because they kept glancing at me. Unfortunately they were outside so it was impossible for me to eavesdrop. After Steve did ask me a bunch of questions and stuck around watching me for a bit so that was unnerving. The two guys were very nice though so that's good.

    Once I finished work I went and did a food shop. I went with a list (I know, I'm impressed too) and stuck to that list (even more impressed). I got to the till and nearly cried. Like I've got a good week and a bit of food here and if you minus the $30 sim it's not that bad but it hurt handing over that much money. I also paid my rent yesterday so am very glad my pay is coming in tomorrow.

    I am sick of not receiving my messages because optus is really bad out here. So bought a new sim for telstra which is supposed to be better for rural. Most of the guys at work have it so fingers crossed my phone starts connecting because otherwise no one can message or call me and that is a problem.

    Then chilled in my nice air con room and figured out how I am going to store my stuff in only half a room.
    Read more