Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 115

    To Sydney

    January 17, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    Woke up, kinda hurt, still quite red.

    I visited the Cairns museum which was interesting. Lots of stories from aboriginal people and the effects of tourism where the rainforest meets the reef.

    Ended up sitting at gilligans for a while using their wifi to sort stuff out. Had a minor heart attack when the woman at Hobart YHA said she couldn't find my booking. Thankfully she did and I managed to switch it up so that it fits around my tour next week.

    Found out that there is rail works going on between Sydney and Blue Mountains so might not make it there while I'm in sydney. That's annoying but ok. Means I've got two days to see the city instead of one.

    Currently waiting in the airport for my flight. I arrived in a private taxi, top tier. Was expecting a shared mini bus so that was nice. Same price as well. However I did arrive super early. So I am currently waiting to check my bag in before i can go through security to wait at my gate. Feel quite tired now, think I'll have to get a coffee if I'm going to make it without falling asleep. Or maybe I sleep in the plane?
    Read more