Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 115

    #flying

    January 17, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    Ngl, wasnt sure we would end up taking off at one point. A huge storm came in and delayed everything. But thankfully by the time my flight was boarding it had died down. Still meant for one hell of a bumpy ride at the start.

    I get stopped at security all the time. Side effect of travelling alone as a young female, I scream drug mule. However, I wasnt stopped today. Genuinely so happy. Until my name was called out over the tannoy and I had to do the walk of shame back to check in. Turns out I had a lighter in my checked luggage. Ngl, had no clue what was there. I remember my colleague handing it too me and my just sticking it in my bag. I dont smoke, I dont need it. I have zero recollection of putting in my big bag. But security found it. I explained I dont smoke and had no clue I even packed it. The guy searching my bag did not believe me but when I told him to bin it, he did believe me. He was fully taken aback when I said that, but I dont need or want them. Thankfully he was a lot nice after that as he finally believed me. But then had to do the walk of shame back through security. Got a surprised look from the guard who had spoken to me the first time I went through but all was good.

    Once I was on the plane, it got better. Like, a lot better.

    So the woman at check in upgraded me to a window seat after I was randomly placed between a mother and child. Already she was a legend for that as that would have sucked. But then she also moved me back a row so there was me at the window and a guy on the isle, and no one in between! Had this on the way back from Adelaide at Christmas as well. It's honestly the best.

    But wait, it gets better. I am on the side of the plan that got to see the sunset. I am never on the window seat cause I always gotta pee and dont want to annoy the people by getting up loads. Thankfully, I have learnt to deal with that. I still gotta go before I leave for anything, but it's less intense (sorry for the tmi).

    Anyways, sunset was so pretty from the window. The storm was beneath us and the sky was just super bright.

    On a less good note, I'm praying that the bathroom lighting is just really bad because otherwise I am literally a tomato. Like I looked in the mirror and dear god. How? I look so sun burnt it's bad. I'm praying itll go down cause this is not a look. However I did have a flirty chat with a guy at the airport, so maybe it isnt so bad?

    Oh but then my flight got better. Came back to my seat and and was greeted with a lovely surprise. The guy on the isle, moved back a row to sit with his daughter (I think it is). So I now have a full row to myself! That's right, I am spread out and living my best life. His family seems to have booked 3 rows for 5 of them. So not sure if a bunch of people didnt show or if we just got lucky with a bunch of free seats. Or maybe they are just Hella rich? But they have all moved together and I am vibing.

    I got my tunes, I got my leg room and the coffee had kicked in. Sydney here I come!

    Turns out, it is just a really undercooked flight. Only a handful of row are full, around 1/4 only have one person. Tbh it is a random tuesday evening in the middle of jan. They must cater to tourists mainly. And there were 4 flights leaving to sydney in 2hrs. Weird.

    Ended up landing safely despite the initial storm. The landing was a little bit of a squeaky bum moment ngl. I've flown quite a bit lately and I'm pretty sure we are not supposed to hit the ground that hard and decelerate with quite so much noise. But I am no pilot and we are all good.

    One thing I will never understand is people inability to follow simply instructions. Stay seated until we stop moving. Boom, simple, easy. But apparently no. People are crazy. And then the need to stand in the isle. I'm in the middle of the plane, we ain't going nowhere for a hot minute. But they gotta stand. Wild. Also the photo from the window is Sydney at night. If you look super close you can see the bridge and opera house at the bottom.

    Ok this was a super long one so respect to anyone who actually finished this rant. I'm bored so just typed everytime I had a thought.
    Read more