Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 183

    The trek to Albany

    March 26, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Ok so, having the surname Wilkinson is a blessing and a curse. For years I have been at the end of the register, last picked and all that. But today I realised an excellent use of this position.

    When we get on the bus, they tick our names off. There is no proff of ticket or whatever, just need the surname. As I am always at the end, one quick glance is all it takes for me to roughly estimate how many people are going to be on the bus. With this number I can figure out how likely it is I will have a seat to myself. Today there was around 10 names, with the bus seating up to 40 at full capacity, anything less than 20 and we should have free seats.

    Now I know this isnt all that useful or amazing, but when you are facing a 3hr bus journey, you want to have a seat free beside you. The difference is immense.

    Finally managed to get on bus two. I had to switch at Bunbury to get me to Albany. But my ticket was split in two. I had the journey to Denmark, then from Denmark to Albany. The bus driver, bless his heart could not understand what I was explaining. He wouldn't let me on so made me run to the ticket office and get a print out. It was really strange but finally he let me on.

    Met a nice woman at one of our rest stops. She was getting the bus down to visit here daughter and we had a nice chat. Mixed up the monotony of sitting on a bus.

    This journey down is very different to the journey I took to Geraldton. Going north of Perth it was all red desert and tiny bushes. Down here it is all massive trees and lush grassland. The weather as well is different. Geraldton was all bright skies and searing heat. Down here it is autumn. Around 20°, over cast with a strong breeze. More the weather I would expect from England in October which is about right for this area and time of year. And as I wrote this, it is beginning to drizzle on me!

    After so many hours on a bus, I finally arrived in Albany. The hostel is cute and it is warmer than I had expected it too be.
    Read more