Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 184

    Albany

    March 27, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I literally had the weirdest sleep last night. I was continually and consistently waking up every hour. Every hour. And it wasnt because the hostel is loud or uncomfortable, I just wasnt tired. So new feeling for me, I am properly rested. Wild.

    So I woke up around 7,30 for the billionth time and just decided to get up. Did a bit of journaling and then headed to the kitchen for the free breakfast. I love a hostel with free breakfast. And it gets better, it was pancakes. I havent had pancakes in so long and they were amazing.

    Afterward I headed to the tourist centre. I dont know if other travelers do this but I've found it's best to go to one and then the locals can tell you what's worth it and where to go. Unfortunately I thought they opened at 9,30 but it was actually 10am. So I wandered around a bit, looked at the town hall and aboriginal monument.

    When they finally opened one of the women in my room had the same plan as me so we decided to spend the morning together. We convinced another roommate to come with us and the three of us wandered around Albany's Historical District. It had everything from old buildings to museums and boats, the oldest cottage in WA and pictures of buildings a 100 years ago. We managed to find a photo of our hostel when it was a Hotel and bar. All of this was in a little 1k loop making for a very nice self guided tour of the city.

    Once done we headed back to the hostel. I needed some food so I went to Woolies and one of the others is doing the Billibum trail so had to record herself on that. On the way we saw a motorcycle that I loved.

    Then spent the afternoon on my ipad, watched some TV and hid from the rain. It is definitely autumn down here. Warm enough but overcast and the leaves are turning. A different kind of beauty.
    Read more