Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 187

    Actual mountian climbing

    March 30, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    The girl I got to speaking with in the room last night is travling around the south west with a car. And after realising we are very similar and getting on well all evening, we decided to take a little road trip today.

    We had our pancakes and headed around 30mins north of Albany to Castle Rock. Castle rock is an actual large hill, not quite as high as the south downs but the landscape is drastically different.

    Out hike took us straight up for around 3k before an extra stretch up the side of the rock on pegs and a ladder. It whole was up I was struggling. After going straight up Mt Melville a few days ago, and the 10k round trip than was the beach yesterday, I was struggling. But I powered through because I am an idiot but I am not a quitter. And the view was well worth it.

    We were above the tree line and could see straight to the mountains in land and the sea in the other direction. I could also see Melville and the difference in height was laughable.

    The whole trip took a few hours and Mia and I both realised we are very similar in life story and reasons for travling. She will be on the east coast around the time I am not so hopefully we meet again.

    Back at the hostel, I was done. Beyond done, I nearly fell asleep seated. So I had a cuppa tea, ate pasta twice because i couldn't be bothered to cook but was starving and watched suicide squad.

    I also figured out my expenses and realised I had not updated my budget since getting paid for my Hobart job. The one annoying part of my trval spend app is it doesn't add my income to my overall budget. So I did that manually and realised I now have an extra couple thousand to play with so that's always nice.

    We then all had an early night. Mina had to catch her bus to perth in the morning and Mia is setting off on her next stretch to Esperance. I'm not quite sure what I was do tomorrow once I am all alone again.
    Read more