Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 191

    The wild west

    April 3, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    I also booked myself on a guided bus tour of the island. Was it a little unnecessary yes, but I enjoyed it.

    The bus had a guide who talked to us about the history and wildlife on the island. But the bit I most wanted was he took us to the western most part of the island. From here, the first landmass you will hit is Madagascar over 3.5 thousand kilometres away. The wind had picked up quite a bit and it was so fresh.

    This part of the coast is more rugged and parts of the cliffs are hewn out by the wind. The waves are bigger and everything feels just that little bit more powerful.

    It also meant I got the see the entire island without having to do the massive walk there and back which would have taken me all day. The island is small but the paths are windy and the sun was very strong.

    The boat back was a little hairy. The wind continued to pick up so we were rocking quite a bit at times but the 30mins finally ended and I was back on the mainland once more.
    Read more