Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 190

    Freemantle

    April 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Freemantle is cute. I get Brighton vibes from it. Lots of lane ways, the beach is right there and artwork everywhere.

    I wanted to go to the port to have a look but that was all so I let myself get distracted along the way.

    Headed to the tourist centre to see of there was anything worth seeing while I was here. The answer, not really.

    I wandered through the freemantle markets. They reminded me of a mix of the kemptown and borough markets. Indoors but so many different things. I bought some fresh plums which are stunning, and there was a German stall that had pretzels. Pretzels are the main reason I want to go back to germany, so that made me very happy.

    Freemantle itself is a very small city wise so had fun just wandering around. The university was having an open day so some of the streets were blocked off or super busy.

    The port is ugly, but the sailing port is prettier. They had a few lookouts over the coast but not much else.

    I like freemantle but there really isnt much too it and it is definitely a more expensive area.
    Read more