Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 194

    AGV

    April 6, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    The one place in Melbourne I did not go last time so knew I should this time. The Art Gallery of Victoria.

    I have seen a fair few art galleries now and frankly they are beginning to get a little monotonous. However, being a state wide art gallery this was a little different.

    Outside they have a large open area where an artist has recreated the Greek Acropolis and covered it in colour. I did not quite understand the reasoning however in the sunlight it was stunning.

    Inside was a large videogrohy exhibition. This is not something I have seen before and I enjoyed it a lot. The artists had managed to create art from videos and light, something I can get behind.

    Upstairs were many other galleries. The colonial British and European exhibitions were on all floors but as I know quite a bit about europe I avoided them.

    There were also exhibits on both the Macedonian and Grecian ears, as well as a large Asian gallery. This gallery walked you through many different cultures and their artworks influenced by them. I found the Japanese works to be my favourite. The colours and textures were somehow calming.

    There was the customary exit via the gift shop before I had to head back a little earlier than I was as I had a friend to meet.
    Read more