Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 199

    Coffee plantation

    April 11, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Once at the bottom of thr mountain again, we thought our driver was taking us back to our accommodation but we were infact incorrect. Instead we went to a coffee plantation.

    When we arrived one of the workers showed us around a little and gave us a bit of info on what they grow and how coffee goes from being green balls on a tree to our mugs.

    She then lead us over to the large seating and dining area overlooking the forest below and told us she would bring over the free samples. This was fantastic news for me, less so for Moni because she hates coffee. But the woman ended up bringing over 14 samples, half of which were actually tea which made Moni much happier.

    They were amazing. A little sweeter than I like but stil amazing. Very fresh and flavourful. My favourite was the turmeric or rosella tea or the Ginseng coffee. All were amazing but those more so for me.

    Kris and tami, the two women who did the hike and car journey with us, kindly let us go to the plantation. They had been to a different one the day before but did not mind looking around for a bit while we drank. Moni was also able to get a lovely photo of me drinking ridiculously, why is my pinky finger out? Why?

    Our driver the kindly returned us to Ubud for 9,45am. Roughly 7.5hrs after leaving. I cannot quite believe it was so long but very worth it.

    Our lovely host offered us breakfast and despite eating a large amount already I am not one to pass up free food and it meant we didnt need lunch.

    I did some journaling and relaxing on the balcony while Moni slept. I wanted to sleep but I hate doing so in the middle of the day as it always leaves me disoriented. So instead I enjoyed the serenity of our little homestead.

    We decided to take an early dinner as we had been awake from 1.30am and headed to a spot I had found online. It was tiny, only just big enough for a table on either side, but almost all of the food was vegetarian and it was amazing. I am not even kidding, sublime. I ordered the Indonesian selection cause I was curious. I did a bit of research on Indonesian food today and found I recognised a few of the dishes but that dinner was incredible. I would have happily paid $25+ for that (£15+). But it was only $2.5! I could not believe it. Moni and I have been to a couple places now and that was not only fbe best but also the cheapest. You literally cannot go wrong. I am also curious if and of you can guess what the foods are and if so, if any are surprises over their origin.
    Read more