Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 202

    Beachy vibes

    April 14, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    The weather held out for us today!

    We awoke fairly early, around 8,30 and prepared for the day with big Dutch pancakes and coffee. Today we planned to go down to the beach and hang out there for a bit.

    Moni decided she wanted to do some surfing, I did not. The waves are very strong here and I doubt I could swim successfully let alone surf. So I decided to hire a sunbed and relax. We ended up hiring a board and 2 beds for 3hrs so we could relax and not have to move.

    Though the waves were calming, the people were not. It is very hard to relax when you have someone trying to sell you something every 5 minutes. I was struggling to stay calm when one woman decided to begin a foot massage without asking me. At that point I decided to go for a walk to calm down. I bought some snacks for the beach and returned.

    The beach itself is ok. Its not very pretty even with some of the rubbish cleared up. A group were collecting all the rubbish and putting it in a big truck when we arrived. But they probably only collected about 80% so there was still a lot. Between that and the quantity of people who would not leave us alone, I wasnt having the best time.

    After about 2.5hrs a massive rain storm moved in. We had been watching it approach so just before it reached us we donned our ponchos and left the beach. Out 30min walk back was almost completely in the rain.

    Once back the rain stopped so we decided to go for another massage before relaxing by the pool. I didnt really want another massage but Moni was in pain so she got a full body one and I got a hand and foot one. My hand is always tense from writing and wearing flip flops is not helping my feet.

    Back at the pool our relaxation was cut short by 2 earth quakes. The first was a 5.8 and you could feel it but it was not bad. But about a minute later another one happened. This one lasted longer and was a 7. You could really feel the earth moving and the water in the pool was sloshing about a lot. Neither of us had experienced an earth quake before so didnt realise what was happening for the first one but definitely felt the second.

    We went back to the small market spot from last night for dinner, as it is very close and good. I got Bakso this time. Not my favourite dish I have tried. The 'meat' was a little rubbery from how it had been cooked and the soup tasted similar to the pot noodle I have had in Australia so that isnt great. But it was still nice.

    Back in our accommodation we went for a night time swim and realised the water is only so warm because of the sun heating it. At night it was a lot cooler.
    Read more