Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 203

    Sick in paradise

    April 15, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    I really hate my body sometimes.

    This morning I woke with nausea, abdominal pain and hot flushes. I am very used to this but I had hopped it wouldn't happen while I was in Bali. But alas.

    Breakfast was really nice but it made me feel even worse so I spent the entire morning lying in bed trying not to move. Around 1pm I felt marginally better and joined Moni by the pool.

    We then headed out for a bit of a walk to get lunch and I need a book as I have finished mine. Unfortunately, it is about a thousand °c here and we were both melting after about 10seconds. To make it worse, we failed to find either of the bookshops google listed. We headed back to our accommodation as I was not feeling good.

    Back there we went in the pool to cool down and I collapsed into bed again. Spent the next 2hrs in and out of sleep trying not to move before finally giving up and going back to the pool.

    I feel a little bad as Moni hasn't done much today but we both realised we have done all we wanted to do here so are happy to just relax by the pool. The afternoon relax was better as it was a little cooler and the sun had moved.

    I was unable to stomach much food but Ritz crackers have been saving me. I remember they are what saved me in india so bought some for here as well. They taste a little funny but that is probably just me being sick rather than the biscuits themselves.

    We went out for dinner at another veggie restaurant we found on our walk. I ordered a fruit salad, the vietnamese spring rolls and a juice because they had neither dairy or gluten in them. I have noticed when I feel like this, if I avoid those I feel less bad. Not clue if it works but I'll do anything at this point. The salad was ok but I could not eat the sroing rolls. They were literally just cucumber and green paper in rice paper. Not exactly what I was expecting.

    Moni leaves tomorrow and I am not quite sure how I feel about it. I am looking forward to a bit of alone time, and leaving Legian because I do not like it. But I am going to miss having someone to talk to about anything and everything all day.
    Read more