Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 207

    Dirt track roads

    April 19, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Well this was annoying. From the teletubbies hills I headed to Manta point. A lookout point over the ocean and southern part of the island. Another truly stunning view point. From above we could see a few turtles and what might have been a manta or two but from so high up it was hard to tell.

    There was a sign saying 'stairway to heaven' and a bunch of stairs leading down but I think that was a joke as the steps looked highly treacherous and you probably did end up in heaven if you took them! There was also some seating using carved out trees which I liked.

    Back on the bike once more and I started off strong. Took a different route to see some stuff and then had to turn back. Randomly, and with little warning the road simply stopped. Tarmac became gravel in seconds and there was no way I was attempting that alone. So I turned back around and went the way I had come, past the teletubbies hills and turned east ward.

    By the time I had reached the turning from Diamond beach, my final destination it was 3pm and I had been riding for nearly 4.5hrs. So decided to skip diamond beach and head back to the hsotel. I was far enough away that I did well over 5hrs of riding today and was beyond exhausted by the end.

    Back at the hostel, I picked up my laundry, packed for what felt like an age and went to dinner. I had gado-gado again and it was fine. I'm really bored of Indonesian food now but western is twice the price.
    Read more