Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 213

    A strong start

    April 25, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌙 26 °C

    And that is sarcasm.

    We managed to miss out boat this morning. Neither of us is entirely sure how, but we both thought the boat was 8,30. It was not. It was 8am. So we watched as it floated away and we became stranded on Gili Meno. As there was both of us and we really wanted to get off this island, we hired a private boat transfer. Around 10× more expensive but our only option.

    Once on Lombok, we walked to our shuttle transfer and waited. And then waited some more. And then, just a little longer. After nearly 2hrs waiting, our shuttle finally arrived and we began the bumpy journey down.

    Senggigi is quiet. And not in the nice way Meno was quite. In the there is nothing here and I somehow have to fill the next 2 days.

    My hostel is an interesting experience. I am in a 20 bed room, but there is only 2 others in it. So that is weird but at least I can hopefully use the wifi without it lagging too much. Maybe? That's the only upside I can see right now.

    There is a beach somewhere and tomorrow I think I will hire a bike again and take a drive around. There doesn't seem to be much to see but I will do a little research this afternoon and find out. I think there is a textile place somewhere that you can learn about Indonesian textiles so might try to find that. If not, there is always the beach.

    Around 11,30 I finally managed to find somewhere for food. Breakfast finished at 10,30 so I had to settle for an entree of spring rolls and fritters. Not healthy but I am starving and there is nothing here open so taking what I can get.

    I believe the rest of my day will consist of writing all these blog posts, doing my bali notebook, booking accommodation for may and relaxing. The one perk of an empty hostel, its silent!

    It began raining while I was at the cafe and did not stop so I got drenched getting back to my hostel. I did stop for snacks half way so I didnt have to leave again if the rain didnt stop. Which was good as it continued all afternoon.

    Was it lazy not leaving my hostel, yes. But I've been writing these blogs since 12 and it's not 5,30. So I had a shower from the rain and a real one, but other than that I've been just doing these and they are only now ready to post. It will be worth it in the end, but my god the effort these take! Much love to anyone who reads these, as many are very long and I have given up with spell checking!
    Read more