Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 214

    Senggigi is not where its at

    April 26, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Omg this is proabbly the deadest place in the world. Basically there is nothing to do here. People come here when they are on their way off the island in whichever direction they are going.

    There are minimal things to do. The beach is dirty and far enough away you have to ride there. The volcano is currently closed because of the rain and other reasons noone will tell me. The only things to see are the waterfalls but you cannot go alone as a woman. So I would have to hire a driver and I dont want to hire a middle aged Indonesian who speaks minimal english to watch me explore the waterfalls. I also am not allowed in them either.

    So that leaves the one cheap cafe that has like no food. An expensive restaurant, the beach club or staying in my hostel. Oh and I cant hire a bike cause the police are on the road literally outside and noone is willing to rent a bike to a foreigner with them right there.

    Everyone in my room checked out this morning so I am the only one in the hostel. As a result I have basically just spent all day on my own in the room. It began raining around 12, and literally hasn't stopped so that put a stop to me doing anything really.

    I went out for a massage in the afternoon because why not. Got a full hour body massage, felt better afterwards. I was begining to go a little stir crazy inside, and the power had cut out in the hostel so I was literally going insane,boiling and not doing anything.

    After dark a braved the weather again and headed to a restaurant that I had seen early. The food looked good, it's more expensive then where I usually eat but it's still cheaper than most everywhere else, and they have a large menu. The servers were really sweet and seated me out of the rain and made up a table for me.

    I got a butter chicken because I am sick of Indonesian and didnt want to order western. Also butter chicken is usually really great, this one wasnt quite. Still super nice but I dont think I would call it a butter chicken, not creamy enough. I then also got a desert cause it was an Indonesian specific desert, the first I have seen advertised as such and it was amazing. Kolak Pilsang is my new obsession. Coconut milk and sugar base boild with fruit added *chess kiss* (I know it looked gross but it was amazing).

    The worst part however was the prayer that began. I am trying very hard not to be antisemitic but literally blasting the chants on loud speakers throughout town, multiple times a day, especially the 4am one, is really begining to get to me. If it was just for 5 mins, that would be fine, I could deal with that. But a half hour, multiple different people, including kids, and that speaker is not good. If this happens every day, why is noone speaking about it? I cannot with it.

    I then just went back to my room, showered for the thousandth time today (no power meant no aircon all day), and went to bed. On my own, in a massive room, in an empty hostel. It was weird.
    Read more