Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 224

    Parks and oceans

    May 6, 2023 in Australia

    Ok, Darwin has grown on me. I dont love it but I can see the appeal.

    Despite it being a capital city, it is tiny. Not skyscrapers, no busy intersections. Everything here is calmer, slower but it still has all a city should. It is also right on the coast with a pretty coastline and port, and it is outdoor oriented. Obviously because it is hot all year round but I was expecting there to be more stuff advertised to do. It's a city after all, yet nothing seemed to be happening.

    This morning I headed about to the Parap Market. It was more food oriented than I was expecting and as I'd already eaten the free breakfast at the hostel, I didnt want to spend any money. It was a little disappointing if I'm honest, it is supposed to be this amazing market, the second best in Darwin and it was just a but meh. All of the food was relatively the same, and there were proabbly 4 stalls for Laksa. I've had Laksa, it isnt that great.

    I left pretty quickly and headed down to the water. There was a nice nature reserve between the road and the coast. Its trees blocked the sounds of the city very well and it became very peaceful there and further onto the beach.

    The beach was more my kind of beach, rocks and pebbles which made me happy. Felt a bit like being in rottingdean as I walked among the rock pools, though not quite as nice. The solitude called to me and I could finally see why you would choose to live here.

    It would be a quite life. You go to the markets on the weekend, head down to the beach with your dogs in the mornings. Buy a 4x4 and go out into the national parks on the weekends. I can see why people would think it a nice life. But I know I'd get bored after a while. Maybe for a few months, when it's not so hot but not raining either.
    Read more